Know When to Let Go

For the past six months, I have been in a rocky, on-again, off-again relationship.  Sometimes I don’t even feel like it deserves the title of “relationship.” I keep saying I’m done, but somehow he weasels his way back into my life every time.  I’m not sure what it is about him that I can’t let go.  Maybe it’s not about him at all.  Maybe it’s my fear of being alone, the whispering lies of that little voice that tell me I will be single forever, so I might as well hold on to this one for as long as possible.

Don’t be like me.  When you realize your relationship is dysfunctional, and neither one of you are growing in it, move on.  let it go.  Do you.  Focus on other things.  Most importantly, get closer to God.  When you spend time with him, he will lead you down the right path.  He doesn’t want his children to be hurt and living in turmoil.  He will give us peace and make us content with being single.  We just have to talk to him and stop worrying about what people say.  Being single is not a curse.  It is actually a blessing, and being in a healthy relationship with the right person is a blessing too.  But, we’ll never get to that happy place if we keep holding on to something that should have been released long ago.  I’m hoping that writing this will help me find the strength to let go once and for all…

Leave a Reply

