Get/Stay Healthy!!!

Being healthy should be a lifestyle, not just a New Year’s resolution.  Sure, it’s ok to get back on the right track at the start of the year.  But, don’t slack off after a month.  Today, I started SELF Magazine’s New Year’s Challenge.  It consists of strength and cardio workouts.  I have to admit I practically gave up on working out the last couple months of 2016.  Now, it’s time to get it together!

All human beings should remember that our bodies are the Lord’s temple.  We need to treat them as such.  Everything in moderation.  Cut out smoking, excessive drinking, overeating, etc.  It’s also important for everyone to exercise, no matter what size you are.  I definitely need to lose a few dozen pounds, and I know I’m not alone.  But, slim ladies, we’re not leaving you out.  Thin does not always equal healthy.  We all need cardio to keep our hearts healthy.  We also want to do strength training to stay toned and maintain fitness as we get older.

Getting in shape SHOULD NOT be about getting or keeping a man.  That might be a bonus, but you should take care of your body for yourself.  If you lose weight or start a workout plan just for a man, what are you going to do if that relationship doesn’t work out?  Let yourself go?

It doesn’t matter what you’ve done in the past.  I’ve done it all.  Worked out while I was single, then gained “happy weight” during the relationship from too many dinner dates.  I’ve binged on junk food when the relationship got rocky or ended.  I’m human.  I’m not going to beat myself up about it.  But, I am going to do things differently.

I’ve been single since July 2016, and my diet choices have had nothing to do with a man.  I just have some really awful eating habits.  Now is the time to break them.  For consecration this year (January 3-February 5 for my church), I am giving up sodas.  The goal is not to pick them back up after consecration is over.  Sodas just aren’t good for you.  Those are one of my worst habits that I have held onto since I was a teen.

Remember, always consult a physician before starting a new workout routine.  I always read that on exercise videos, but I never do it.  Don’t be like me.  Happy New Year!!!  Let’s get it.

Leave a Reply

